AnomeraMD

« DE RENOUVABLE À REMARQUABLE »

Paul Boyton
Président et chef de la direction

Près d'un siècle s'est écoulé depuis l'ouverture de notre première installation en 1926. Depuis lors, Matériaux innovants Rayonier Advanced Materials est devenue un leader mondial dans l’élaboration et la fabrication de spécialités à base de cellulose. Aujourd'hui, nos matériaux font partie intégrante de gammes de produits allant des téléviseurs aux pneus en passant par les lunettes et les médicaments. Le fruit de notre travail est au cœur des produits de tous les jours.

Au fil des années, nous nous sommes dépassés, inspirés par l’innovation. En 2017, grâce à une équipe de recherche entrepreneuriale située à Montréal, RYAM a investi et développé un produit innovant, un nanomatériau à base de cellulose.

Aujourd'hui, je suis fier d'annoncer publiquement l'investissement stratégique de RYAM dans Anomera, une société qui possède une méthode brevetée et écologique de fabrication de nanocristaux de cellulose carboxylée (CNC), une remarquable innovation qui crée une technologie verte avec des possibilités pour une variété d'applications.

La Société détient une participation avec droit de vote de 44 % dans Anomera, qui continuera de croître dans le cadre de notre accord. Il élargit aussi notre vision commune, soit la création de produits durables qui améliorent la vie de tous et protègent notre planète.

Le moment est propice. Les consommateurs exigent de plus en plus que l'industrie soit plus respectueuse de l'environnement, et Anomera offre des alternatives naturelles et biodégradables pour les marchés de plusieurs milliards de dollars, pour remplacer les microbilles à base de silice ou de pétrole qu’on retrouve dans les cosmétiques, le ciment, les peintures et revêtements, en agriculture, en médecine, en pharmacie et dans les sciences de la vie.

Notre partenariat stratégique avec Anomera offre une opportunité sans pareil pour consolider notre position de chef de file en chimie de la cellulose. Célébrons ensemble cette occasion en nous appuyant sur ce que nous faisons de mieux : fournir aux clients des produits durables qui améliorent la vie.

Anomera_Logo_FR-MD

« REDÉFINIR LA CELLULOSE POUR L'AVENIR »

Qui est Anomera?

Anomera est une start-up spécialisée dans la cellulosique qui utilise comme base les spécialités de cellulose de RYAM. Elle fabrique des nanocristaux de cellulose carboxylée (CNC) selon une méthode écologique brevetée qui fournit un nanomatériau supérieur issu de récoltes durables de nos forêts canadiennes.

Qu'est-ce qui différencie les produits d’Anomera?

Les produits d’Anomera sont certifiés facilement biodégradables et sont ciblés par des marchés qui utilisent actuellement des options moins respectueuses de l'environnement comme les microbilles à base de silice ou de pétrole qui jonchent nos océans. De plus, les produits d’Anomera comportent d'autres propriétés : ils rendent les produits lisses et facilitent la transposition des pigments dans les cosmétiques. De plus, leur marque brevetée DextraCelMC apporte résistance et dispersion à une multitude d’applications industrielles.

Où les produits d’Anomera seront-ils utilisés?

Ce produit crée de nouvelles opportunités pour les marchés de plusieurs milliards de dollars, tels que les cosmétiques et les soins de la peau, les industries du ciment, les composites polymères, les revêtements, les pigments, en agriculture ainsi que pour le bien-être humain dans le domaine pharmaceutique et des sciences de la vie.

Comment Anomera sera-t-elle commercialisée?

Anomera s'est associée à Croda, le leader des cosmétiques et des composants de soins personnels, en tant que distributeur exclusif de ces segments. Croda possède une capacité de formulation complète et un portefeuille de produits complémentaires qui lui permettront d’accélérer le lancement réussi d’Anomera dans les cosmétiques et le marché des soins personnels.

Où sont-ils situés?

Le siège social et le laboratoire d’application d’Anomera sont à Montréal, Québec. Anomera construit présentement une usine de fabrication à Témiscaming qui sera adjacente à l’installation de cellulose de RYAM. La construction est en cours et la production devrait commencer au deuxième trimestre 2021.

Pourquoi est-ce important pour RYAM?

RYAM et Anomera partagent la vision de fabriquer des produits qui améliorent la qualité de vie des gens tout en respectant la planète. Anomera a une vision similaire à celle de RYAM et développe des produits qui bénéficieront aux produits de base de RYAM.

Qui compose l'équipe d’Anomera?

Howard Fields, président et chef de la direction, un entrepreneur prospère, dirige une équipe de gestion forte et dévouée, axée sur l’innovation et le développement. L’entreprise emploie 11 doctorants et des scientistes en science des matériaux qui se concentrent sur de nouvelles applications pour la bioéconomie du 21e siècle.

Solutions vertes pour un avenir vert

Nanocristaux Nanomatériau Biodégradable

Naturel Écologique Durable

Ingrédients cosmétiques

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art1

Peintures et revêtements

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art2

Ciment

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art3

Médical, pharma et sciences de la vie

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art4

Matériaux de construction et composites

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art5

Agriculture

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art6

Anomera®

“RENEWABLE TO REMARKABLE”

Paul G. Boyton
President and Chief Executive Officer

It’s been nearly a century since our first facility opened in 1926. Since then, Rayonier Advanced Materials has become a global leader in the development and manufacture of cellulose specialties. Today, our products can be found in everything from TVs and tire-treads to eyeglasses and pharmaceuticals. Our work makes everyday products possible.

Over the years, the spirit of innovation has driven us to excel. In 2017, RYAM began providing financial and product development support for an innovative, cellulose-based nanomaterial under development by an entrepreneurial research team located in Montreal.

Today, I am proud to publicly announce RYAM’s strategic investment in Anomera, whose patented, eco-friendly method of manufacturing carboxylated Cellulose Nanocrystals (CNC) is a remarkable innovation, that creates a green technology or “building block” with enormous potential for a variety of applications.

This investment brings RYAM’s voting interest in Anomera to 44 percent, which will continue to grow within our planned agreement. It also expands our shared vision of making sustainable products that improve lives and protect our planet.

The time is right. Consumers increasingly demand that industry be gentler to the environment, and Anomera’s products offer multi-billion-dollar industries natural, bio-degradable alternatives to silica and petroleum-based microbeads found in cosmetics and their CNC benefits in industries including cement, paints and coatings, composites, agriculture, medical, pharma and life sciences.

Expanding our strategic partnership with Anomera provides an exciting opportunity for RYAM to advance our leadership in cellulose chemistry. Please join us in celebrating this opportunity to build upon what we do best: provide customers with sustainable products that improve lives.

For the latest news about Anomera, click here.

Anomera_Logo_ENG®

“REDEFINING CELLULOSE FOR THE FUTURE”

Who is Anomera?

Anomera is an early stage cellulosics based company that utilized Cellulose Specialties products produced by RYAM as a key raw material. The Company manufactures carboxylated Cellulose Nanocrystals (CNC) in a patented eco-friendly method that delivers a superior nanomaterial from sustainably harvested Canadian Forests.

What differentiates Anomera’s products?

Anomera’s products are certified "readily biodegradable" and are targeted in markets that currently utilize less environmentally friendly silica and petroleum-based plastic microbeads that have littered our oceans. In addition, Anomera products bring other physical properties including smoothing effects and the ability to uniquely carry dyes creating pigments for cosmetic end uses. In addition, Anomera patented DextraCelTM brings strength and dispersion capabilities to a multitude of industrial applications.

Where will Anomera’s products be used?

This platform product is creating new opportunities for the multi-billion dollar markets in cosmetics and skincare, the industries of cement, polymer composites, coatings, pigments, agriculture, and for human wellness in pharma and life sciences.

How will Anomera go to market?

Anomera has partnered with Croda, a global leader in cosmetics and personal care ingredients, as its exclusive distributor for these segments. Croda possesses a full formulation capability and a portfolio of complementary products that will allow it to accelerate Anomera’s successful launch into the cosmetics and personal care market.

Where are they located?

Anomera’s head offices and applications lab are in Montreal, Quebec. Anomera is currently developing a Specialty Manufacturing Facility (SMF) in Temiscaming, adjacent to RYAM’s Temiscaming Cellulose Specialties facility. Construction is underway and production is expected to commence in Q2 2021.

Why is this important to RYAM?

RYAM and Anomera share the vision of producing sustainable products that add to the quality of people’s lives while respecting the planet. Anomera operates in an adjacent, downstream space to RYAM and has products which will benefit RYAM's core manufacturing.

Who is the Anomera team?

Howard Fields, President and Chief Executive Officer, a successful serial entrepreneur, leads a strong and dedicated management team, focused on innovation and development. The Company employs 11 Ph.D.’s and Material Science scientists that focus on new applications for the 21st-century bio-economy.

Green Solutions for a Green Tomorrow

Nanocrystals Nanomaterial Biodegradable

Natural Eco-friendly Sustainable

Cosmetic Ingredients

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art1

Paints and Coatings

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art2

Cement

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art3

Medical, Pharma and Life Science

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art4

Structural Materials and Composites

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art5

Agriculture

RYAM176.1_Anomera_art6

Recent News

Alliance Image

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council has awarded Anomera and its strategic partners a prestigious NSERC Alliance Grant which funds a $400,000 project for improvements to latex coatings and adhesives using their patented DextraCel, a carboxylated nanocrystal cellulose.  The academic strategic partners include University of British Columbia lead by Professor Emilie Cranston, the University of Ottawa led by Professors Marc Dubé and Kelly Meek and Queens University led by Professors Michael Cunningham and Pascale Champagne.  The industrial partners are BASF and Rayonier Advanced Materials.  Anomera is both pleased for the support of the NSERC/CRSNG and excited for the results which are showing significant improvements in latex products that are key in industrial processes.

To read more news about Anomera, click here.